Wednesday, May 5th, 2021

Mamata takes oath as CM for third consecutive time

Wednesday, 05 May 2021 | 7:41 am | 104 times

Mamata takes oath as CM for third consecutive time

Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee has taken oath as chief minister of West Bengal for the third time.

Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar administered her the oath of office and secrecy in a low-key ceremony at Raj Bhawan held amid the raging COVID pandemic on Wednesday. Banerjee took the oath in Bengali language.

Apart from senior TMC leaders like Partha Chatterjee and Subrata Mukherjee, poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who played a key role in TMC’s victory, and Banerjee MP nephew Abhishek Banerjee were present.

Banerjee has said her first priority after resuming office will be to tackle the COVID-19 situation. She also urges all political parties to ensure peace prevails.

The newly-elected TMC MLAs had on Monday unanimously elected Mamata Banerjee as the legislative party leader at a meeting in Kolkata. Banerjee had then tendered her resignation from the office of the Chief Minister to the Governor.

Chief Ministers of other states and leaders of other political parties were not invited for the programme keeping in mind the current COVID-19 situation in the country.

The Trinamool Congress came to power for the third time in a row in West Bengal, pocketing 213 of the 292 assembly seats that went to polls, while its main challenger, the BJP, bagged 77 seats.

Facebook Page