Tuesday, 28th November, 2023

Tigresses leaves country tomorrow for Sri Lanka tour

Tuesday, 25 April 2023 | 4:57 am | 284 times

Tigresses leaves country tomorrow for Sri Lanka tour

Bangladesh Women’s team will leave the country tomorrow for playing their first ever bilateral series against Sri Lanka.
They will play a three-match ODI’s along with three T20I’s against Sri Lanka.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has already announced a 16-member squad for the tour but left out two senior players-Salma Khatun and Rumana Ahmed. The latter had already taken a huge swipe at the team management for her exclusion that created uproar in the cricket fraternity during the Eid holidays.

Salma and Rumana, who have combined 274 caps in international cricket, are rested keeping in mind this year’s busy schedule, said Women’s selector Manjurul Islam. While Salma remained tightlipped on this issue, Rumana said she was dropped in the guise of rest.

This will be the first time Bangladesh will be without these two stalwarts in ODIs. However, the team played a match without this pair in the Women’s T20 World Cup in February this year.

Young pacer Marufa Akter and opener Sharmin Akter were also left out from the squad apart from Salma and Rumana while Sultana Khatun is the new face in the squad.

Both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have so far amassed two points each with Sri Lanka holding the eighth spot after six matches. Bangladesh are seventh after three matches in the Women’s Championship points table after getting two points from a abandoned match in New Zealand.

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana Joty (capt), Fargana Hoque Pinky, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Sobhana Mostary, Lata Mondal, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Fariha Islam Trisna, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun

Bangladesh tour of SL
April 27: Bangladesh vs SLC Board President’s XI, Colombo Cricket Club
April 29: 1st ODI
May 2: 2nd ODI
May 4: 3rd ODI (all ODIs at P Sara Oval)
May 7: Bangladesh vs SLC Board President’s XI, Colombo Cricket Club
May 9: 1st T20I
May 11: 2nd T20I
May 12: 3rd T20I (all T20Is at SSC)

Facebook Page